BC Trapper Education

 
To register and for further information in taking the course, contact the instructor (see list below) closest to your residence location.

The BC Trapper Education course, which must be successfully completed to qualify a person for a trapping license, is given at a particular location when there is sufficient demand. The course takes approximately 21 hours (three full days, usually Friday through Sunday), which includes instruction, demonstration, student participation, and a written exam. Successful completion is based on participation and exam results. The course is designed primarily for students aged 14 years and older. Younger students (minimum 12 years) can be accommodated only if accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also taking the course.

Course cost, which includes a manual and a one year membership in the BC Trappers Association, is $450 (18 years and older), and $350 for youths (12-17 years).

Dates are set by individual instructors when they can fill a class. Please contact your local area instructor for other proposed upcoming dates and register on their individual course mailing lists

2020 Course Dates:

Due to Covid 19, all courses were on hold. Course are now able to resume following guidelines for safe operation. Please contact your nearest instructor for possibility of upcoming courses.

 

BCTA Trapper Education Instructors:

Instructors Region 1

Tim James, Vancouver Island, 778-840-5067, tjames_247@hotmail.com

Instructors Region 2

Tim Killey, Surrey BC, 604-968-4772, t.t.killey@gmail.com

Instructors Region 4

Frank Rad, Cranbrook BC, 250-426-7234, rad4@shaw.ca

Instructors Region 5

Paul Blackwell, Lac La Hache BC, 250-396-7286, pblackwell63@hotmail.com

Stuart Maitland, Horsefly BC, 250-620-5587, old_stu@eurekapeak.com

Instructors Region 6

George Noth, Southbank BC, 250-800-0337, cindylaviolette1@gmail.com

Instructors Region 7

Marty Wells Fort Nelson, 250-500-4352, marty@backcountryservices.com

Carl Gitscheff, Dawson Creek BC, 250-719-8260, cowboy@pris.ca

Bryan Monroe, McBride BC, 250-569-2279, bryan.monroe@hotmail.com

Wayne Sharpe, Prince George BC, 250-962-7867, msharpe@shawcable.com

Instructors Region 8

Ron Lancour, Kelowna BC, 250-868-3350, trap-r@shaw.ca

Ryan Kole, Kelowna BC, 250-826-1036, ryanwkole@gmail.com

Pete Wise, Coldstream, BC, 250-545-8881, pmwise@telus.net
 

Fish and Wildlife Branch